Find Classes
Teach
Log In
Science & Nature

(10 Week Flex Class) Wizard Taxonomy: Magical Beasts and How to Classify Them

A critical examination of magical animals mentioned in the popular "wizard world" book series, comparing their literary significance against the backdrop of biology, taxonomy, history, and mythology!
Teacher Lauren
3017 total reviews for this teacher
4 reviews for this class
Completed by 28 learners
Class
No live meetings
Over 10 weeks
9-14
year olds
1-18
learners per class
per learner - per week

How does aFlexible Schedulecourse work?

No scheduled live video chats
Discussions via classroom forum and private messages with the teacher
Great if your learner prefers independent pacing or is uncomfortable with live video chat

Available Times

Pacific Time

Mon Aug 8

Aug 8 - Oct 17 (10 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 15

Aug 15 - Oct 24 (10 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 22

Aug 22 - Oct 31 (10 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 29

Aug 29 - Nov 7 (10 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Sep 5

Sep 5 - Nov 14 (10 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Sep 12

Sep 12 - Nov 21 (10 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Sep 19

Sep 19 - Nov 28 (10 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Sep 26

Sep 26 - Dec 5 (10 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Oct 3

Oct 3 - Dec 12 (10 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Oct 10

Oct 10 - Dec 19 (10 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Oct 17

Oct 17 - Dec 26 (10 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Oct 24

Oct 24, 2022 - Jan 2, 2023 (10 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Oct 31

Oct 31, 2022 - Jan 9, 2023 (10 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Nov 7

Nov 7, 2022 - Jan 16, 2023 (10 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Nov 14

Nov 14, 2022 - Jan 23, 2023 (10 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Nov 21

Nov 21, 2022 - Jan 30, 2023 (10 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Nov 28

Nov 28, 2022 - Feb 6, 2023 (10 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll
Don't see a time that works for you?
Outschool is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc., owner of the Harry Potter® mark and related Harry Potter marks.

Description

Class Experience

By the end of the course, students should be able to:

♦ Explain the basics of Biological Classification Systems.
♦ Understand how DNA, fossils, and evolutionary lines are all building blocks of modern taxonomy.
♦ Describe the characteristics of specific kingdoms, phyla, classes, and orders of living things.
♦ Explain the limitations of using a taxonomic system to classify fictional/magical creatures.
♦ Describe the weaknesses of our current taxonomic system.
♦ Define these terms: monophyletic, paraphyletic, polyphyletic.
I am a certified science teacher in the state of Arizona, with more than a decade of experience teaching children.  My classes are offered in a lecture format, so your child can participate to his or her comfort level.
No live meetings, and an estimated 0 - 1 hours per week outside of class.

Teacher

Teacher LaurenThe Pop Culture Teacher
3017 total reviews
2676 completed classes

About Me

💰 𝐃𝐢𝐬𝐜𝐨𝐮𝐧𝐭𝐬 💰
I offer a "pay what you can afford" discount for ALL FLEX CLASSES. When you enroll, simply put the amount you think is fair in the "message to teacher" section. I can then apply a partial refund to match the amount you need; it can... 
Learn
© 2022 Outschool, Inc.