Math

Consumer Math: Math with a Purpose- Practical Math Needed for Life! FLEX Part A

In this 12-week course, students will discover and practice the basic math concepts that are used daily in the real world. This is truly real-life based and consumer tested (I'm living proof)!
143 total reviews for this teacher
2 reviews for this class
Completed by 19 learners
Class

No live meetings

Over 12 weeks

13-18

year olds

1-15

learners per class

per learner - per week

How does aFlexible Schedulecourse work?

No scheduled live video chats
Discussions via classroom forum and private messages with the teacher
Great if your learner prefers independent pacing or is uncomfortable with live video chat

Available Times

Pacific Time

Mon May 16

May 16 - Aug 14 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
This section has already started.
Enroll Late

Tue May 17

May 17 - Aug 14 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
This section has already started.
Enroll Late

Mon May 23

May 23 - Aug 21 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue May 24

May 24 - Aug 21 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon May 30

May 30 - Aug 28 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue May 31

May 31 - Aug 28 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jun 6

Jun 6 - Aug 28 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue Jun 7

Jun 7 - Aug 28 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jun 13

Jun 13 - Sep 4 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue Jun 14

Jun 14 - Sep 4 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jun 20

Jun 20 - Sep 11 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue Jun 21

Jun 21 - Sep 11 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jun 27

Jun 27 - Sep 18 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue Jun 28

Jun 28 - Sep 18 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue Jul 5

Jul 5 - Sep 25 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed Jul 6

Jul 6 - Sep 25 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jul 11

Jul 11 - Oct 2 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue Jul 12

Jul 12 - Oct 2 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jul 18

Jul 18 - Oct 9 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue Jul 19

Jul 19 - Oct 9 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jul 25

Jul 25 - Oct 16 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue Jul 26

Jul 26 - Oct 16 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 1

Aug 1 - Oct 23 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue Aug 2

Aug 2 - Oct 23 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 8

Aug 8 - Oct 30 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue Aug 9

Aug 9 - Oct 30 (12 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Don't see a time that works for you?

Description

Class Experience

Students will improve both their literacy and mathematical skills while applying those skills to real-life scenarios they will encounter in their adult lives.
I have been teaching consumer math and personal finance classes for 20 years.
I will be giving out enrichment and practice problems students can do independently each week to ensure I know the student is learning.  If a student is taking this class for a grade or credit, they will need to do the homework for assessment.
Students should have access to a calculator for this class.  Occasionally, I will be posting quick quizzes to do on Kahoot.  
Learners will not need to use any apps or websites beyond the standard Outschool tools.
I will not be formally assessing the students, but if you need me to do a formal assessment, please let me know, and I will create a grading rubric for your student.  I will be providing feedback a few times each week!
No live meetings, and an estimated 0 - 1 hours per week outside of class.

Teacher

Daysha, M.Ed
🇺🇸
Lives in the United States
English and Writing/Piano/Math & Finance/Forensics/Master's in Education
143 total reviews
244 completed classes

About Me

Hello!  I am so excited you stopped by my profile! 

While in college, I earned degrees in English, Education, journalism, and music and continued on to earn a master's degree in Education.

I am 21-year English and personal finance teacher and... 
Learn
© 2022 Outschool, Inc.