Find Classes
Teach
Log In
Arts

Painting Techniques - Painting with Oil Colors

Discover how to paint with oil colors through exciting techniques and projects!
Jennifer Rolfsness
323 total reviews for this teacher
5 reviews for this class
Completed by 50 learners
Class
No live meetings
Over 4 weeks
12-17
year olds
1-10
learners per class
per learner - per week

How does a "Flex" course work?

No scheduled live video chats
Discussions via classroom forum and private messages with the teacher
Great if your learner prefers independent pacing or is uncomfortable with live video chat

Available Times

Pacific

Tue, Oct 4

Oct 4 – 31 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Oct 6

Oct 6 – Nov 2 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Oct 10

Oct 10 – Nov 6 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Oct 12

Oct 12 – Nov 8 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Oct 18

Oct 18 – Nov 14 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Oct 20

Oct 20 – Nov 16 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Oct 24

Oct 24 – Nov 20 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Oct 26

Oct 26 – Nov 22 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Nov 1

Nov 1 – 28 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Nov 3

Nov 3 – 30 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Nov 7

Nov 7 – Dec 4 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Nov 9

Nov 9 – Dec 6 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Nov 15

Nov 15 – Dec 12 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Nov 17

Nov 17 – Dec 14 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Nov 21

Nov 21 – Dec 18 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Nov 23

Nov 23 – Dec 20 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Nov 29

Nov 29 – Dec 26 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Dec 1

Dec 1 – 28 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Dec 5

Dec 5, 2022 – Jan 1, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Dec 7

Dec 7, 2022 – Jan 3, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Dec 13

Dec 13, 2022 – Jan 9, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Dec 15

Dec 15, 2022 – Jan 11, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Dec 19

Dec 19, 2022 – Jan 15, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Dec 21

Dec 21, 2022 – Jan 17, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Dec 27

Dec 27, 2022 – Jan 23, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Jan 3, 2023

Jan 3 – 30, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Jan 5, 2023

Jan 5 – Feb 1, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sat, Jan 7, 2023

Jan 7 – Feb 3, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jan 9, 2023

Jan 9 – Feb 5, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Jan 11, 2023

Jan 11 – Feb 7, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri, Jan 13, 2023

Jan 13 – Feb 9, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Jan 17, 2023

Jan 17 – Feb 13, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Jan 19, 2023

Jan 19 – Feb 15, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jan 23, 2023

Jan 23 – Feb 19, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Jan 25, 2023

Jan 25 – Feb 21, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri, Jan 27, 2023

Jan 27 – Feb 23, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Jan 31, 2023

Jan 31 – Feb 27, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Feb 2, 2023

Feb 2 – Mar 1, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sat, Feb 4, 2023

Feb 4 – Mar 3, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Feb 6, 2023

Feb 6 – Mar 5, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Feb 8, 2023

Feb 8 – Mar 7, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri, Feb 10, 2023

Feb 10 – Mar 9, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Feb 14, 2023

Feb 14 – Mar 13, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Feb 16, 2023

Feb 16 – Mar 15, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Feb 20, 2023

Feb 20 – Mar 19, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Feb 22, 2023

Feb 22 – Mar 21, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri, Feb 24, 2023

Feb 24 – Mar 23, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Feb 28, 2023

Feb 28 – Mar 27, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Mar 2, 2023

Mar 2 – 29, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sat, Mar 4, 2023

Mar 4 – 31, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Mar 6, 2023

Mar 6 – Apr 2, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Mar 8, 2023

Mar 8 – Apr 4, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri, Mar 10, 2023

Mar 10 – Apr 6, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Mar 14, 2023

Mar 14 – Apr 10, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Mar 16, 2023

Mar 16 – Apr 12, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Mar 20, 2023

Mar 20 – Apr 16, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Mar 22, 2023

Mar 22 – Apr 18, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri, Mar 24, 2023

Mar 24 – Apr 20, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Mar 28, 2023

Mar 28 – Apr 24, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Mar 30, 2023

Mar 30 – Apr 26, 2023 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll
Don't see a time that works for you?

Description

Class Experience

Materials required: 5 canvas boards measuring 9"x12". They student can work on bigger boards, but recommend going no bigger than 16"x20". Oil paint colors: I recommend buying the set "Georgian Oil Color Introduction Set". All colors needed for the entirety of the course are in the set and are small tubes. (Colors needed if bought individually: Titanium white, lemon yellow, cadmium yellow, cadmium red, crimson alizarin, french ultramarine, sap green, yellow ochre, burnt sienna, lamp black). The set can be bought through several art supply stores that allow coupon discounts. Set of 3 or 4 oil paint brushes varying in size. No bigger than a 1" wide bristles. Small container of Gamsol or Turpenoid. Small container of Liquin. Supplies cost between $35 and $50 (total)
Learners will not need to use any apps or websites beyond the standard Outschool tools.
No live meetings, and an estimated 2 - 4 hours per week outside of class.

Teacher

Jennifer Rolfsness
🇺🇸
Lives in the United States
Masters of Art Education
323 total reviews
1282 completed classes

About Me

Artist.  Teacher.  Mother.
Hello!  I am an art educator that has a passion for teaching all things art related.  My experiences include teaching painting/drawing, photography, graphic design, sewing, sculpture, and art history to all ages... 
Learn
Get The App
© 2022 Outschool, Inc.