Science & Nature

Nature's Wonders: The Science Behind Blue

In this one-time class, we’ll explore why the color blue is rare in the animal world; we’ll discuss the chemistry and physics behind blue, while investigating wavelength, light, eye sight, and pigment.
146 total reviews for this teacher
6 reviews for this class
Completed by 52 learners
Class

45 minutes

per class

Meets once

9-13

year olds

1-5

learners per class

per learner

How does aOne-Timeclass work?

Meets once at a scheduled time
Live video chat, recorded and monitored for safety and quality
Great for exploring new interests and different styles of teachers

How Outschool Works

Available Times

Pacific Time

Thu May 19

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
5pm - 5:45pm
1 learner enrolled
Enroll

Mon May 23

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
10pm - 10:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue May 24

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
1 learner enrolled
Enroll

Thu May 26

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Fri May 27

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
6pm - 6:45pm
 Enroll

Mon May 30

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
6pm - 6:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Jun 2

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jun 3

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jun 6

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
8pm - 8:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Jun 7

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Jun 9

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
10pm - 10:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Jun 14

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
8pm - 8:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jun 15

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Jun 16

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jun 20

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
10pm - 10:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Jun 23

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jun 24

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
6pm - 6:45pm
 Enroll

Sun Jun 26

Meet once (1 day)
Sunday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Jun 28

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
6pm - 6:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Jun 28

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Wed Jun 29

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
6pm - 6:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Jun 30

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
9pm - 9:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jul 1

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
9pm - 9:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jul 6

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
10pm - 10:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Jul 7

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
9pm - 9:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jul 8

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
8pm - 8:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jul 11

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
6pm - 6:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Jul 12

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
8pm - 8:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jul 13

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Jul 14

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
10pm - 10:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Mon Jul 18

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
10pm - 10:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Jul 19

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Jul 26

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Wed Jul 27

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jul 29

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Don't see a time that works for you?

Description

Class Experience

After completing this class learners will be able to:
❈ Describe how the color blue is unique in nature
❈ Identify how animals make the color blue
❈ Summarize how we see colors
I hold a BS degree which gives me a solid foundation in the sciences. I also have homeschooled my three children, and during their high school years we focused on the subjects of earth and physical sciences. 
No homework required
No supplies needed
Learners will not need to use any apps or websites beyond the standard Outschool tools.
Verbal informal assessment
45 minutes per week in class, and maybe some time outside of class.
Blue: In Search of Nature's Rarest Color by Kai Kupferschmidt. Print.
"Why is Water Blue?" by Charles Braun and Sergei Smirnov, Dartmouth College 
PBS.org
Britannica.com
Wikipedia.com

Teacher

Mrs. Seashell
🇺🇸
Lives in the United States
Teaching gems and pearls of great value!
146 total reviews
463 completed classes

About Me

Welcome!

It continues to be a privilege to teach on Outschool, and a joy to be able to reach learners around the world. I’m Shelmika or Mrs. Seashell, and I am just as excited to be teaching today on Outschool as I was a year ago. 

I’m a... 
Learn
© 2022 Outschool, Inc.