Find Classes
Teach
Log In
Arts

You Can Write a Movie! (Film School for Kids) (FLEX)

In this creative writing course, writers will learn how to take a story idea and write it for the screen.
Dana Leon | The Movie Kids Guide
13 total reviews for this teacher
1 review for this class
Completed by 3 learners
Class
No live meetings
Over 6 weeks
8-12
year olds
1-8
learners per class
per learner - per week

How does a "Flex" course work?

No scheduled live video chats
Discussions via classroom forum and private messages with the teacher
Great if your learner prefers independent pacing or is uncomfortable with live video chat

Available Times

Pacific

Thu, Dec 1

Dec 1, 2022 – Jan 12, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri, Dec 2

Dec 2, 2022 – Jan 13, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri, Dec 2

Dec 2, 2022 – Jan 13, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sun, Dec 4

Dec 4, 2022 – Jan 15, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Dec 5

Dec 5, 2022 – Jan 16, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Dec 6

Dec 6, 2022 – Jan 17, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Dec 7

Dec 7, 2022 – Jan 18, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Dec 8

Dec 8, 2022 – Jan 19, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri, Dec 9

Dec 9, 2022 – Jan 20, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sun, Dec 11

Dec 11, 2022 – Jan 22, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sun, Dec 11

Dec 11, 2022 – Jan 22, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Dec 12

Dec 12, 2022 – Jan 23, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Dec 13

Dec 13, 2022 – Jan 24, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Dec 14

Dec 14, 2022 – Jan 25, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Dec 14

Dec 14, 2022 – Jan 25, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Dec 15

Dec 15, 2022 – Jan 26, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri, Dec 16

Dec 16, 2022 – Jan 27, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sun, Dec 18

Dec 18, 2022 – Jan 29, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Dec 19

Dec 19, 2022 – Jan 30, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Dec 20

Dec 20, 2022 – Jan 31, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Dec 21

Dec 21, 2022 – Feb 1, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Dec 22

Dec 22, 2022 – Feb 2, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri, Dec 23

Dec 23, 2022 – Feb 3, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sun, Dec 25

Dec 25, 2022 – Feb 5, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Dec 26

Dec 26, 2022 – Feb 6, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Dec 27

Dec 27, 2022 – Feb 7, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Dec 28

Dec 28, 2022 – Feb 8, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri, Dec 30

Dec 30, 2022 – Feb 10, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sun, Jan 1, 2023

Jan 1 – Feb 12, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jan 2, 2023

Jan 2 – Feb 13, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Jan 3, 2023

Jan 3 – Feb 14, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Jan 4, 2023

Jan 4 – Feb 15, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Jan 5, 2023

Jan 5 – Feb 16, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Jan 5, 2023

Jan 5 – Feb 16, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri, Jan 6, 2023

Jan 6 – Feb 17, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sun, Jan 8, 2023

Jan 8 – Feb 19, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jan 9, 2023

Jan 9 – Feb 20, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Jan 11, 2023

Jan 11 – Feb 22, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Jan 12, 2023

Jan 12 – Feb 23, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri, Jan 13, 2023

Jan 13 – Feb 24, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sun, Jan 15, 2023

Jan 15 – Feb 26, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jan 16, 2023

Jan 16 – Feb 27, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Jan 17, 2023

Jan 17 – Feb 28, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Jan 18, 2023

Jan 18 – Mar 1, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Jan 19, 2023

Jan 19 – Mar 2, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri, Jan 20, 2023

Jan 20 – Mar 3, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sun, Jan 22, 2023

Jan 22 – Mar 5, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jan 23, 2023

Jan 23 – Mar 6, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Jan 24, 2023

Jan 24 – Mar 7, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Jan 25, 2023

Jan 25 – Mar 8, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Jan 26, 2023

Jan 26 – Mar 9, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri, Jan 27, 2023

Jan 27 – Mar 10, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sun, Jan 29, 2023

Jan 29 – Mar 12, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sun, Jan 29, 2023

Jan 29 – Mar 12, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jan 30, 2023

Jan 30 – Mar 13, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue, Jan 31, 2023

Jan 31 – Mar 14, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed, Feb 1, 2023

Feb 1 – Mar 15, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Feb 2, 2023

Feb 2 – Mar 16, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri, Feb 3, 2023

Feb 3 – Mar 17, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sun, Feb 5, 2023

Feb 5 – Mar 19, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sun, Feb 12, 2023

Feb 12 – Mar 26, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sun, Feb 19, 2023

Feb 19 – Apr 2, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sun, Feb 26, 2023

Feb 26 – Apr 9, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sun, Mar 5, 2023

Mar 5 – Apr 16, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sun, Mar 12, 2023

Mar 12 – Apr 23, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sun, Mar 19, 2023

Mar 19 – Apr 30, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Mar 23, 2023

Mar 23 – May 4, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Sun, Mar 26, 2023

Mar 26 – May 7, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu, Mar 30, 2023

Mar 30 – May 11, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll
Don't see a time that works for you?

Description

Class Experience

This class is taught in English.
This class will satisfy the following Common Core ELA standards: W.3a-e, W.4, W.5, W.6, and W.10

- Write narratives to develop real or imagined experiences or events using effective technique, descriptive details, and clear event sequences.
- Orient the reader by establishing a situation and introducing characters; organize an event sequence that unfolds naturally.
- Use dialogue and description to develop experiences and events or show the responses of characters to situations.
- Use concrete words and phrases and sensory details to convey experiences and events precisely.
- Provide a conclusion that follows from the narrated experiences or events.
- Produce clear and coherent writing in which the development and organization are appropriate to task, purpose, and audience.
- Develop and strengthen writing as needed by planning, revising, and editing.
- Use technology to produce and publish writing as well as to interact and collaborate with others.
I have taught the writing process in my 3rd and 4th grade classes and adapted them for a filmmaking club at my former school. Prior to becoming a teacher, I had worked on a few independent films and attended film school. 
There will be writing homework for every lesson except for Lesson 1.
Lesson 1 homework is more of a shift in mindset when watching movies. Students will be encouraged to see movies as mentors for their own writing, that they can pick up ideas from. 
If not using a word processing program like Google Docs or Word, students will want to have a dedicated notebook.
In addition to the Outschool classroom, this class uses:
- Writers will be given feedback on their work for each lesson before the next week. 
- Feedback will be given to all final projects. 
- Final grades available upon request. 
No live meetings, and an estimated 1 - 2 hours per week outside of class.
Kahoot will be used for this class. Learners will not need an account. 

I will share templates through Google Docs. Learners can convert these to Word or use the templates as a guide in for how to organize their work in a dedicated notebook.

Teacher

Dana Leon | The Movie Kids Guide
🇺🇸
Lives in the United States
Certified Special Education Teacher, Math and Film Enthusiast
13 total reviews
50 completed classes

About Me

Welcome! I am Dana Leon, AKA The Movie Kids Guide™. I am a teacher and editor and I love to create fun, engaging lessons that are accessible for all learners. 

I believe that learning happens everywhere and that kids learn best when they are... 
Learn
Get The App
Download the Outschool iOS app on the App Store
©2022 Outschool, Inc.