Science & Nature

Virtual Astronomy & Space Academy

Get $7 off my class "Virtual Astronomy & Space Academy" with coupon code MANNIHVJ567 until April 15th. Get started at https://outschool.com/classes/virtual-astronomy-and-space-academy-yulhgdyK and enter the coupon code at checkout.
Kevin Manning
25 total reviews for this teacher
8 reviews for this class
Completed by 42 learners
Class

45 minutes

per class

Meets once

5-10

year olds

1-18

learners per class

per learner

How does aOne-Timeclass work?

Meets once at a scheduled time
Live video chat, recorded and monitored for safety and quality
Great for exploring new interests and different styles of teachers

How Outschool Works

Available Times

Pacific Time

Mon May 30

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue May 31

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jun 1

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Jun 2

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jun 3

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jun 6

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Jun 7

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jun 8

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Jun 9

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jun 10

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jun 13

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Jun 14

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jun 15

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Jun 16

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jun 17

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
1 learner enrolled
Enroll

Mon Jun 20

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Jun 21

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jun 22

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Jun 23

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jun 24

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jun 27

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Jun 28

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jun 29

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Jun 30

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jul 1

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Jul 5

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jul 6

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Jul 7

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jul 8

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jul 11

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Jul 12

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
1 learner enrolled
Enroll

Wed Jul 13

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Jul 14

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jul 15

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jul 18

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Jul 19

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jul 20

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Jul 21

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jul 22

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jul 25

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Jul 26

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jul 27

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Jul 28

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jul 29

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Aug 1

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Aug 2

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Aug 3

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Aug 4

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Aug 5

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Aug 8

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Aug 9

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Aug 10

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Aug 11

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Aug 12

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Aug 15

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Aug 16

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Aug 17

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Aug 18

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Aug 19

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Aug 22

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Aug 23

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Aug 24

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Aug 25

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Aug 26

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Aug 29

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Aug 30

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Aug 31

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Sep 1

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Sep 2

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Sep 5

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Sep 6

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Sep 7

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Sep 8

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Sep 9

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Sep 12

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Sep 13

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Sep 14

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Sep 15

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Sep 16

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Sep 19

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Sep 20

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Sep 21

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Sep 22

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Sep 23

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Sep 26

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Sep 27

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Sep 28

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Sep 29

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Sep 30

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Oct 3

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Oct 4

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Oct 5

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Oct 6

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Oct 7

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Oct 10

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Oct 11

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Oct 12

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Oct 13

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Oct 14

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Oct 17

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Oct 18

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Oct 19

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Oct 20

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Oct 21

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Oct 24

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Oct 25

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Oct 26

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Oct 27

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Oct 28

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Oct 31

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Nov 1

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Nov 2

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Nov 3

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Nov 4

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Nov 7

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Nov 8

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Nov 9

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Nov 10

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Nov 11

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Nov 14

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Nov 15

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Nov 16

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Nov 17

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Nov 18

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Don't see a time that works for you?

Description

Class Experience

Course Objectives & Learner Outcomes

        Upon completion of the course, the student will be able to:

        A. Define basic terminology used in astronomy and the space sciences.
             1.	Subatomic particles
             2.	Planets & moons
             3.	Stars & constellations
             4.	Star clusters, nebulae & galaxies
             5.	Supermassive black holes
        B. Understand and state important concepts and principles.
	     1.        Space exploration
	     2.        Colliding galaxies
        C. Apply principles to scientific calculations.
	     1.        Speed of light
        D. Interpret charts and graphs in evaluating scientific data.
	     1.        Faces of the Moon
        E. Demonstrate skill in the use of instruments and scientific reasoning.
	     1.        Particle accelerator
Each student will receive a PDF packet.  Part of that is a Daily Observation Log.  Read the instructions and after it gets dark outside on the first clear night, record all objects you identify in the sky with just your eyes.  Though no grade will be assessed, this will help you become more familiar with the night sky.  If you can, make more observations to record using optical aid such as binoculars or a telescope.
 1 file available upon enrollment
A provided PDF packet will need to be printed out, and includes a cover, a daily observation log with instructions, various objects we can view in the sky, and two STEM hands-on activities that only require a pen or pencil.
Learners will not need to use any apps or websites beyond the standard Outschool tools.
45 minutes per week in class, and maybe some time outside of class.
Any books on astronomy, and Astronomy and Sky & Telescope magazines.

Teacher

Kevin Manning
🇺🇸
Lives in the United States
Where the ABC's of the Universe are brought to Light!
25 total reviews
62 completed classes

About Me

Learn from a real astronomer!  I teach exciting astronomy classes about different aspects of the universe using incredible photos, awesome video clips, and fun STEM hands-on activities.  My passion about the universe really shows.
•	Astronomer and... 
Learn
© 2022 Outschool, Inc.