English
Log In

Summer Precal Review/Preview, Session 2

Class
Michael Gold
Average rating:
4.8
Number of reviews:
(164)
We will learn some central concepts in and methods of precalculus (analysis) to prepare you for the fun you have ahead or to review some of the fun you've left behind.

Class Experience

US Grade 7 - 10
  • To understand how to analyze graphs of functions. To understand how to analyze functions. To understand parametrics. To know how polar coordinates work and to be able to graph in them. To understand sequences and series. To be prepared for a year-long course in precalculus. To understand some foundations of calculus. To understand how precal is useful to fields like physics, chemistry, and biology. To learn some logic and thinking skills that will help all through life in all areas of life.
I have a degree in mathematics, and have taught all math from pre-algebra through calculus and statistics for decades.  And I have a Texas Teacher Certificate in Secondary Mathematics. 

Because I have studied philosophy, physics, chemistry, biology, the history of science, and the philosophy of science, I can help you see how and where mathematics is useful in life, help you see how it developed in history, and will help you draw life lessons from it.

What matters is not so much my credentials (which, yes!, I have, as you can see in my profile bio), but the success of my students. Those successes are my real credentials. Here are some:

“My son has enjoyed this class and made friends as well as broadened his understanding of Calculus. I recommend this class.” –Xaidie C., parent, “Calculus, Semester 1,” 14 Jan 2022

“Never before was my son as motivated and interested in a course. It was a delight to see and fun to hear him share about the lessons without prodding 😄” –Paula L., parent, “High School Geometry, Semester 1,” 2 Jan 2022

"My 14 year old appreciated the feel of a real class – we even signed up for Part 2. There were a lot of practice problems and then he would review how to walk through it.” –An Outschool parent, “Summer Geometry Preview/Review, Session 1,” 25 Jul 2020

“Great overview of what geometry class will be like in the upcoming school year. It teaches you how to think about geometry, and the importance of logic and systematic thinking in general.” –Gita S., parent, “Summer Geometry Preview/Review, Session 1,” 28 Jun 2020

“Very useful and informative class. Just what we needed. Very good teacher.” –Aleksandra K., parent, “Math Lab: Sine, Cosine, and Tangent Basics,” 27 Apr 2020

“My 13 yo son got a lot out of this class. The teacher is funny. I wasn’t around much but when I was there was some hilarious things going on. But not all the kids got his humor. That was so funny because they didn’t realize some of his humor. He makes class interesting and fun but also serious and talks about how things will help them in the future. We would do another class in the future but it’s just a little expensive for us to do classes all the time. Not a bad price it’s just hard to do that all the time.” –Lindsay W., parent, “Geometry Essentials, Semester 1,” 10 Mar 2021

“My son loved this course. He said that the teacher was really funny. I have never seen my son so excited about math. Thank you, Mr. Gold!” –Rosa L., parent, “Math Lab: Sine, Cosine, and Tangent Basics,” 26 Mar 2020

"Michael Gold’s 'Summer Geometry Preview/Review' was a in-depth yet efficient way (8-classes over a two-week period @ 1.5 hours per class) to get a preview of what to expect in the fall. My daughter wants to stay sharp over the summer (around the fun and relaxation that all kids need) and the structure of a class that meets live is the only option for us. Also, the class was comprised of like-minded students and a nice group of kids.

"We first came to know Mr. Gold through his 'Logic Essentials: How to Think Well' class. I highly recommend this class because logic and deductive reasoning are the cornerstones of thinking well. We need our kids to flag poor arguments and discern the truth. Unless you are attending an elite prep school, I don’t know where you would find exposure to a class like this. I am so grateful that Mr. Gold makes this class offering available. So when I shared Mr. Gold’s Geometry offering with my daughter, she wanted to sign up knowing he is a wonderful teacher.

"What was most telling – my daughter never forgot about the class date or time. I know Mr. Gold is engaging because if I walked past her room, she was never distracted. He connected with kids on all fronts using lecture, illustrating problems on the board and showing YouTube videos. He has a warm personality, inflection in his voice and good sense humor. After each class ended, my daughter wanted to show me her notes and explain a problem set she learned. Also, I received a detailed email from Mr. Gold outlining everything that was covered in each class, along with links to videos, books, geometry worksheets and more. I also appreciate that homework was optional – your child can leisurely gain exposure or go all out on mastering the subject matter – there’s no pressure.

"Michael Gold has high standards for teaching and truly cares about his students. My family joins his long list of five star reviews because he’s that good. My daughter and I highly recommend Mr. Gold’s ‘Summer Geometry Preview/Review’ and ‘Logic Essentials: How to Think Well’. We enthusiastically encourage you to sign up for any class he teaches!"
–Mary B, parent, “Summer Geometry Preview/Review, Session 1,” 19 Aug 2020

Dylan T, ex-high school student now in his 20s: "I really did learn more than geometry and math taking classes with you. I learned to reason and use logic to start solving things in everyday life. It’s pretty useful at work when I use reasoning to find root causes, and to find and fix problems. You teach people how to THINK!"

Mr. M, high school teacher of Madison S; quote from emailed note from teacher to parent "I agree with you 100%. [Madison] has gone from a D/C student to a B/A student. She is knocking it out of the park right now, not just by getting the work done but by also doing it correctly. It is nice to have her as a student I can rely on to do her work and know how to do it. I know that she has tried to share her story with others to encourage them to just try and do their work, that Algebra is not as hard as they are making it out to be and I appreciate that. I hope she finishes up the year strong."

Joe S, ex-high school student: "I tutored with Michael for physics and calculus at the end of my senior year of high school in order to prepare myself for my first semester of engineering at Texas A&M University. Not only was I prepared enough to feel comfortable and excel in the coursework my 1st semester but Michael introduced me to thinking about problems as a whole and inductively (a thought process which has helped in every form of learning). To this day, 7 years later, I still use this method to help me solve problems and learn, in work and in life, more effectively. I highly recommend Michael to anyone looking to not only improve their grades but also to improve their ability to problem-solve and appreciate learning."

Rajiv R, ex-junior high and high school student:  "Michael sets the standard for excellence among tutoring services. I was a student of Michael Gold for around 7 years, and the education I received has had an immeasurably positive impact on my life.

"I originally only sought out tutoring for Geometry & Algebra, during middle school, in order to place into higher level math classes. I found the tutoring to be so valuable that I continued my lessons even after placing into and acing my desired courses -- I received tutoring in math through high school and some of college (all the way up to 3D Calculus). Additionally, I received tutoring for English and Grammar, Physics, SAT prep and more.

"Gold's tutoring helped me achieve A's in my classes and great scores on standardized tests, but this was just the 'tip of the iceberg.' With each lesson I also learned how to better think logically, carefully, and reasonably. These skills are essential to life and have helped me immensely - I still use the learning/study methods I developed through Gold's lessons to earn top scores in many college courses and to do well in my work and hobbies.

"I will forever be grateful to Gold Academy, and highly recommend the service to any student who is looking to start learning, thinking and living."
Homework
Frequency: available upon request
Feedback: available upon request
Details: Optional assignments for each day's work will be provided. The homework is optional, but will allow you to retain and grasp the material better in the course and in the long run, and to better build your knowledge day by day.
No text. We'll use free worksheets on the Internet for homework and supplements.

A graphing calculator like a TI-84, TI-89, HP Prime, or Casio is recommended.
No text. We'll use free worksheets on the Internet for homework and supplements.

A graphing calculator like a TI-84, TI-89, HP Prime, or Casio is recommended.
Joined June, 2019
4.8
164reviews
Profile
Teacher expertise and credentials
Texas Teaching Certificate in Mathematics
Bachelor's Degree in Mathematics from University of Texas at Austin
I teach individual and group classes in math (arithmetic through calculus and statistics), physics, chemistry,  nature study ("natural history"), SAT prep, ACT prep, grammar, writing, logic, thinking skills, and physical fitness. 

Being a... 
Group Class

$275

for 10 classes
5x per week, 2 weeks
90 min

Completed by 4 learners
Live video meetings
Ages: 12-17
3-15 learners per class

About
Support
SafetyPrivacyCA PrivacyLearner PrivacyTerms
Get The App
Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play
© 2024 Outschool