Coding & Tech

Scratch Code-a-thon-Flex-Beginners Learn to Code A New Game Each Week! (7-13)

Get ready for an exciting five weeks! This Scratch coding class is for beginners. Students will become CODERS as they create five different video games by learning new programming concepts every week.
739 total reviews for this teacher
21 reviews for this class
Completed by 141 learners
Class

No live meetings

Over 5 weeks

7-12

year olds

2-18

learners per class

per learner - per week

How does aFlexible Schedulecourse work?

No scheduled live video chats
Discussions via classroom forum and private messages with the teacher
Great if your learner prefers independent pacing or is uncomfortable with live video chat

Available Times

Pacific Time

Mon May 23

May 23 - Jun 26 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon May 30

May 30 - Jul 3 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Jun 6

Jun 6 - Jul 10 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Jun 13

Jun 13 - Jul 17 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Jun 20

Jun 20 - Jul 24 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Jun 27

Jun 27 - Jul 31 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Jul 4

Jul 4 - Aug 7 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Jul 11

Jul 11 - Aug 14 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Jul 18

Jul 18 - Aug 21 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Jul 25

Jul 25 - Aug 28 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Aug 1

Aug 1 - Sep 4 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Aug 8

Aug 8 - Sep 11 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Aug 15

Aug 15 - Sep 18 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Aug 22

Aug 22 - Sep 25 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Aug 29

Aug 29 - Oct 2 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Sep 5

Sep 5 - Oct 9 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Sep 12

Sep 12 - Oct 16 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Sep 19

Sep 19 - Oct 23 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Sep 26

Sep 26 - Oct 30 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Oct 3

Oct 3 - Nov 6 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Oct 10

Oct 10 - Nov 13 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Oct 17

Oct 17 - Nov 20 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Oct 24

Oct 24 - Nov 27 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Oct 31

Oct 31 - Dec 4 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Nov 7

Nov 7 - Dec 11 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Nov 14

Nov 14 - Dec 18 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Nov 21

Nov 21 - Dec 25 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Nov 28

Nov 28, 2022 - Jan 1, 2023 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Dec 5

Dec 5, 2022 - Jan 8, 2023 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Dec 12

Dec 12, 2022 - Jan 15, 2023 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Dec 19

Dec 19, 2022 - Jan 22, 2023 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Dec 26

Dec 26, 2022 - Jan 29, 2023 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Mon Jan 2, 2023

Jan 2, 2023 - Jan 8, 2023 (5 weeks)
Flexible Time
Taught by:
Davy Smith
 Enroll

Don't see a time that works for you?

Description

Class Experience

At the end of this five week course, students will be able to:
-Log into the Scratch platform and create a user ID and password to save their game.
-Know what is Scratch and how to code using blocks.
-Know how to use backgrounds, costumes, and sprites.
-Know how and when to use if/then conditional blocks, loops, and variables. 
-Know how to use the sensing, sounds, and operator blocks.
-Create their own video game on Scratch.
-Cooperate with other students to provide constructive feedback.
-Weekly homework consists of:
- Scratch project which will be a fully functional video game.
- Lesson worksheet
-Discussion post.
-Optional collaborative meeting during week#5
Students will need a laptop or desktop to complete the coding projects and another device to view the lesson videos. 
In addition to the Outschool classroom, this class uses:
-Students will receive weekly feedback (constructive and written) about their project and lesson worksheet. 
-Students will get a pass/fail grade at the end of the five weeks.
-Students who complete complete all the work successfully will receive a personalized completion certificate.
No live meetings, and an estimated 2 - 4 hours per week outside of class.

Offered by

Coding Doctors STEM Learning Lab
🇺🇸
Lives in the United States
Founded by Lauren Smith, Certified Teacher & Member of the Computer Science Teachers Association. We Believe that All Kids Can Learn Coding-Math-Reading-Science. Your Child Will Achieve their Greatest Potential!
739 total reviews
683 completed classes

About Us

For a limited time, we are offering a discount for families! Use coupon code DOCTORSCAMP10 for $10 off any class. Coupon valid until May 31st, 2022 so don't delay!

Welcome to the Coding Doctors Learning Lab! Founded by Lauren Smith, a member of... 
Learn
© 2022 Outschool, Inc.