Find Classes
Teach
Log In
Social Studies

Private Tutoring: Chess or Subject by Request (Ages 11-14)

In this ongoing tutoring class, learners can communicate their interests or bring their school work to class so that we can work together and develop a study plan. Also available in French and Mandarin.
Louisa Hou
193 total reviews for this teacher
3 reviews for this class
Completed by 22 learners
Class
50 minutes
per class
Once per week
every week
11-14
year olds
1
learner per class
per learner

How does anOngoingcourse work?

Meets on a weekly schedule, join any week, no need to catch up on previous material
Live video chats, recorded and monitored for safety and quality
Discussions via classroom forum and private messages with the teacher
Automatic payment every Sunday, cancel any time
Great for clubs and for practicing skills

How Outschool Works

Available Times

Pacific Time
🔥 This class is in high demand! 7 of 8 classes have sold out.

Next on Tue Aug 23

Meets Once per week
Tuesday
3pm - 3:50pm
 Subscribe
Don't see a time that works for you?

Description

Class Experience

My goal is to help students acquire the tools to develop their own study plans. This means that my teaching method revolves around developing goals, identifying the types of information, organizing the newly acquired information, finding similarities between tasks, and developing specific sequence of steps for them. I also use a lot of visualization with my students. In addition, I like to incorporate psychology in my classes by explaining the studies and theories behind the learning process. I think it is important for students to understand the mechanism of learning so that they can become independent learners. 
We might have ongoing project in which I will follow up on the student's progress. Generally I will not assign homework for the sake of it. 
The material of each session will depend on the student. We will determine the supply list after communicating with both the learner and the parent.
The learner's progress will be assessed depending on the goals of the student. 
50 minutes per week in class, and maybe some time outside of class.

Teacher

Louisa Hou
🇨🇦
Lives in Canada
Chess/Psychology
193 total reviews
319 completed classes

About Me

Dear parents and learners, 

Welcome to my profile! Thank you for your interest in my classes. 

I have a degree in psychology from McGill University with a strong interest in child development and a minor in history. I am currently a graduate... 
Learn
© 2022 Outschool, Inc.