Log In

Private Tutor for Struggling Readers and Dyslexia(45 Minutes)

Diane N. M.Ed.
Average rating:5.0Number of reviews:(50)
In this private class, I will help students increase their reading fluency, comprehension, spelling, and writing skills. #confidence

Class experience

1. Students will learn sound/symbol correspondence.
2. Students will be able to identify initial, medial, and final sounds in words.
3. Students will be able to count the number of syllables in words.
4. Students will be able to divide, code,  and read multisyllabic words.
5. Students will spell words with increasing accuracy, with attention given to proper punctuation and capitalization in spelling dictation and quick-writes.
6.  Students will increase their fluency rate and read with expression and comprehension.
7.  Students will write complete sentences with correct capitalization and end punctuation.
8. Students will learn to write cursive letters(optional).
Homework Offered
The student should be reading each night for a minimum of 25 minutes. "Ear reading" with programs like Learning Ally, Bookshare, and Audible all count as reading. Your child will also benefit from hearing you model fluent reading. I will occasionally assign passages for oral reading as repeated practice. It is helpful if a family member can listen to the child read and provide feedback.
Assessments Offered
Students will be assessed through Mastery Checks and other informal, ongoing teacher assessments.
Grades Offered
Please have the following supplies ready to go for each class:
 A three-ring binder, 5 dividers(orange, blue, green, yellow, and red) to mark sections, looseleaf paper or grade-level handwriting tablet, a pencil, an eraser, colored pencils, markers, plastic sheet protectors, a dry erase marker, a whiteboard, and the ability to print a few weekly pages for lessons.

*****I will send a file upon enrollment. New files will be sent weekly.
Learners will not need to use any apps or websites beyond the standard Outschool tools.
Learners will not need to use any apps or websites beyond the standard Outschool tools.
Average rating:5.0Number of reviews:(50)
I have been a teacher in Texas for more than thirty years. My experience includes Dyslexia Intervention, Academic Coach, Reading/Language Arts Teacher, and Small Group Intervention. I have a Master's Degree in Elementary Education and a Bachelor's... 
1-on-1 Tutoring


per session
Meets on demand
45 min

Completed by 8 learners
Live video meetings
Ages: 7-12

SafetyPrivacyCA PrivacyLearner PrivacyTerms
Outschool International
Get The App
Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play
© 2024 Outschool