Social Studies

(FLEX) Montessori at Home: Let’s Travel to the Continents of the World!

For this 7-week flex course, learners will travel to each continent around the world (using the Montessori puzzle map) and study the countries, flags, animals, and culture of each continent, too.
Kelsey Thornton
648 total reviews for this teacher
7 reviews for this class
Completed by 17 learners
Class

No live meetings

Over 7 weeks

6-11

year olds

2-12

learners per class

per learner - per week

How does aFlexible Schedulecourse work?

No scheduled live video chats
Discussions via classroom forum and private messages with the teacher
Great if your learner prefers independent pacing or is uncomfortable with live video chat

Available Times

Pacific Time

Mon May 30

May 30 - Jul 18 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jun 6

Jun 6 - Jul 25 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri Jun 10

Jun 10 - Jul 29 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jun 13

Jun 13 - Aug 1 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri Jun 17

Jun 17 - Aug 5 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jun 20

Jun 20 - Aug 8 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri Jun 24

Jun 24 - Aug 12 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jun 27

Jun 27 - Aug 15 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri Jul 1

Jul 1 - Aug 19 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jul 4

Jul 4 - Aug 22 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri Jul 8

Jul 8 - Aug 26 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri Jul 8

Jul 8 - Aug 26 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jul 11

Jul 11 - Aug 29 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri Jul 15

Jul 15 - Sep 2 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jul 18

Jul 18 - Sep 5 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri Jul 22

Jul 22 - Sep 9 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jul 25

Jul 25 - Sep 12 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri Jul 29

Jul 29 - Sep 16 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 1

Aug 1 - Sep 19 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri Aug 5

Aug 5 - Sep 23 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 8

Aug 8 - Sep 26 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri Aug 12

Aug 12 - Sep 30 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 15

Aug 15 - Oct 3 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri Aug 19

Aug 19 - Oct 7 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 22

Aug 22 - Oct 10 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 22

Aug 22 - Oct 10 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri Aug 26

Aug 26 - Oct 14 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 29

Aug 29 - Oct 17 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri Sep 2

Sep 2 - Oct 21 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri Sep 2

Sep 2 - Oct 21 (7 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Don't see a time that works for you?

Description

Class Experience

This class is taught in English.
Learners will understand the continents with its countries, flags, animals, and cultures from around the world. 
I am a trained Early Childhood Montessori teacher that is trained on the subject of Geography and teaching about the continents of the world. 
There will be quizzes and a water coloring puzzle map project throughout the course and each week. 
 2 files available upon enrollment
There will be attachments for the scavenger hunts on the welcome post. For the Montessori world puzzle map, you may purchase a small or regular sized one on Amazon for around $40-$60 (depending on the size) if you do not have one already. If you do use a different type of world puzzle map, make sure for the project to use the respective colors representing the Montessori world puzzle map. Additionally for your convenience, there will also be continent attachments on the welcome email for the map-making process as well if you are not able to access a Montessori Puzzle Map or a regular puzzle map. You will also need: - A large poster board -Watercolor palettes with brushes -cup of clean water, and one cup water used for dirty watercolor water. -Watercolor paper -Paste glue -Scissors -Pencil or black marker
Learners will not need to use any apps or websites beyond the standard Outschool tools.
No live meetings, and an estimated 1 - 2 hours per week outside of class.
If learners are using scissors, please make sure they use them carefully and with parental supervision.
We can refer to this website: kids-world-travel-guide.com for more information on cultures of each country from around the world. 

Teacher

Kelsey Thornton
🇺🇸
Lives in the United States
Ms. Kelsey || Certified Early Childhood Montessori Teacher || Music Enthusiast || 1:1 Tutor
648 total reviews
753 completed classes

About Me

Hello! My name is Kelsey Thornton. My sweet friends on Outschool like to call me Ms. Kelsey. I love teaching Montessori lessons, sharing about Space and other fun Science facts, too. I also love to talk about Music, and play around on Chrome Music... 
Learn
© 2022 Outschool, Inc.