Find Classes
Log In

Jamming on a Saturday: Improv and Ear Training Club

In this ongoing course, students will be able to work on ear training, playing by ear, and improvisational skills.
Carolyn Fish
3 total reviews for this teacher
Completed by 1 learner
  There are no upcoming classes.
year olds
learners per class

Charged weekly
Meets 1x per week
Runs week after week
50 minutes per class
Cancel anytime

There are no open spots for this class.

You can request another time or scroll down to find more classes like this.


Class Experience

Students will grow in their ability to play by ear and improvise. Students will also grow in their knowledge of basic music theory concepts and in their confidence as a musician.
I have a Bachelor of Arts in piano performance and have been teaching piano for 15 years, and I have been playing piano for 32 years. A large part of my training and teaching experience has been in ear training and playing by ear. I have also taken graduate courses in jazz/blues and improvisation technique. I thoroughly enjoy the freedom of being able to play by ear and improvise, And I can’t wait to pass that on to your students. I enjoy helping students reach their full potential. Also, for some students, learning to read music can be very frustrating and limiting. Inside, they love music and playing around on their instruments, but their musical ability outweighs their ability to read the music. It is my hope that this class will help those students explore music theory concepts and various playing Techniques without having to worry about reading the music.
Students will need their instruments present with them for class. Students may want to have paper and pencil with them for taking notes, but this is optional.
Learners will not need to use any apps or websites beyond the standard Outschool tools.
50 minutes per week in class, and maybe some time outside of class.


Carolyn FishMrs. Fish
3 total reviews
9 completed classes

About Me

Hello, my name is C. J. Fish, and I can’t wait to meet you! I am a homeschool mom of four children. I have a bachelors in piano performance and a masters in counseling. I have 15 years experience teaching private piano and guitar lessons. I also... 
Get The App
Download the Outschool iOS app on the App Store
©2023 Outschool, Inc.