Science & Nature

Invasive Species 201: What Are They? and How Do They Impact Habitats? (Ages 11-16)

This class is an introduction to invasive species.
377 total reviews for this teacher
2 reviews for this class
Completed by 19 learners
Class

40 minutes

per class

Meets once

11-16

year olds

3-10

learners per class

per learner

How does aOne-Timeclass work?

Meets once at a scheduled time
Live video chat, recorded and monitored for safety and quality
Great for exploring new interests and different styles of teachers

How Outschool Works

Available Times

Pacific Time

Fri May 27

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
9pm - 9:40pm
 Enroll

Tue Jun 7

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
5pm - 5:40pm
 Enroll

Wed Jun 15

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
9pm - 9:40pm
 Enroll

Tue Jun 21

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
5pm - 5:40pm
 Enroll

Wed Jun 22

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
9pm - 9:40pm
 Enroll

Tue Jul 5

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
5pm - 5:40pm
 Enroll

Wed Jul 13

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
9pm - 9:40pm
 Enroll

Tue Jul 19

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
5pm - 5:40pm
 Enroll

Wed Jul 27

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
9pm - 9:40pm
 Enroll

Tue Aug 2

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
5pm - 5:40pm
 Enroll

Wed Aug 10

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
9pm - 9:40pm
 Enroll

Tue Aug 16

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
5pm - 5:40pm
 Enroll

Wed Aug 24

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
9pm - 9:40pm
 Enroll

Tue Sep 6

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
5pm - 5:40pm
 Enroll

Wed Sep 7

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
9pm - 9:40pm
 Enroll

Tue Sep 13

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
5pm - 5:40pm
 Enroll

Wed Sep 21

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
9pm - 9:40pm
 Enroll

Tue Oct 4

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
5pm - 5:40pm
 Enroll

Wed Oct 5

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
9pm - 9:40pm
 Enroll

Tue Oct 18

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
5pm - 5:40pm
 Enroll

Wed Oct 19

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
9pm - 9:40pm
 Enroll

Tue Nov 1

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
5pm - 5:40pm
 Enroll

Wed Nov 2

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
9pm - 9:40pm
 Enroll

Tue Nov 15

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
6pm - 6:40pm
 Enroll

Wed Nov 16

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
10pm - 10:40pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Nov 29

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
6pm - 6:40pm
 Enroll

Wed Nov 30

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
10pm - 10:40pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Dec 13

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
6pm - 6:40pm
 Enroll

Wed Dec 14

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
10pm - 10:40pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Dec 20

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
6pm - 6:40pm
 Enroll

Wed Jan 4, 2023

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
10pm - 10:40pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Don't see a time that works for you?

Description

Class Experience

By the end students will understand:
What are introduced and invasive species?
How do introduced species get spread?
What are the characteristics of an introduced species that make them invasive?
Why are species found in some location and not others?
What are the effects of introduced species on the economy and ecology of new habitat?
What are some ways to prevent/control the spread of introduced species?
I have a PhD in Ecology. My graduate research focused on introduced species. Additionally, I am very interested in introduced species and their impacts on ecosystems. 
Learners will not need to use any apps or websites beyond the standard Outschool tools.
40 minutes per week in class, and maybe some time outside of class.
video on invasive species
https://youtu.be/gYNAtw1c7hI

Teacher

Dr. Lopez
🇺🇸
Lives in the United States
Enthusiastic biology teacher. I share my knowledge and passion for science and allow learners to explore and think about unimaginable natural phenomenon.
377 total reviews
904 completed classes

About Me

Education
Dr. Lopez earned a Ph.D. in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology from Rice University in Houston, TX and earned a B.S. in Biology from University California, Los Angeles.

Teaching experience
Dr. Lopez has taught college courses in... 
Learn
© 2022 Outschool, Inc.