Math

Hands-On Math!: 6th + 7th Grade Ongoing Pod (36 Weeks, Certified Teacher) | STEM

Math is fun and practical in this ongoing class for 6th and 7th Grade learners. Stay for the year or jump in at any time. Learn through a combination of hands-on activities, pen-to-paper practice, presentations, videos and projects.
45 total reviews for this teacher
Completed by 19 learners
Class

50 minutes

per class

Once per week

every week

11-13

year olds

6-8

learners per class

per learner

How does anOngoingcourse work?

Meets on a weekly schedule, join any week, no need to catch up on previous material
Live video chats, recorded and monitored for safety and quality
Discussions via classroom forum and private messages with the teacher
Automatic payment every Sunday, cancel any time
Great for clubs and for practicing skills

How Outschool Works

Available Times

Pacific Time

Next on Wed May 25

Meets Once per week
Wednesday
4pm - 4:50pm
Only 2 spots remaining
Subscribe

Don't see a time that works for you?

Description

Class Experience

⭐️Topics⭐️

🧮️Arithmetic: Making Sense of Numbers
✔factors, multiples and prime factorization
✔negative and absolute values on the number line

🍕Fractions: Parts of a Whole
✔adding, subtracting, multiplying and dividing
✔decimals
✔rates, ratios and percentages

❓Algebra: Solving Equations
✔PEDMAS
✔adding, subtracting, multiplying and dividing

📐Geometry: Shapes and Measurement
✔perimeter, area, volume
✔angles, triangles, circles and polygons

📈Statistics: Making Sense of Data
✔measures of center and variability
✔populations and samples

🎲Probability: What are the Chances?
✔single and compound events

💰Financial Literacy
✔commissions, tips, taxes and discounts
*About the Teacher*
Jacquie is a certified teacher who LOVES teaching Grade 6 and Grade 7 all subjects. I am an experienced educator in the public education system and in alternative learning environments. I am also a 5-year homeschool parent who follows a Waldorf and Charlotte Mason mash-up approach.

*Teaching Experience*
Homeschool Educator K-4 (Waldorf, Charlotte Mason)
Biology 10, Biology 11; Surrey, BC Canada
Grade 6, Grade 7 All Subjects; Vancouver, BC Canada
Spanish 8, Math 9, Physical Education 8; Vancouver Island, BC Canada
Education Coordinator BC Parks; BC Canada
Anthropology Guest Educator; North Carolina, USA
Technology 8-12, Math 8/9, Physics 11; Namibia

*Education*
BA Education; Vancouver Island University, BC Canada
BA Biology; UNC-Chapel Hill, NC USA
BA International Relations; UNC-Chapel Hill, NC USA
FA Public Policy and International Affairs; Princeton University, NJ USA
Nutrition and Health Counselling, Vancouver BC Canada
Master Gardener, BC Canada
Permaculture, BC Canada
SCUBA Open Water, Advanced, Rescue, Honduras
Emergency Medical Technician, NC USA

*Other Experience*
Financial Analyst Intern; The Motley Fool, VA USA
Data Analyst; FINCA International, Ecuador
Farmer's Market Manager
Governance Board
Library Board

*Travel*
Europe, Central America, Africa (Namibia, Zambia)

*Languages*
French
Spanish
Extra practice is recommended. The teacher will provide weekly extension activities and extra practice resources. Completion and correction of assignments will be at the parents' discretion.
General Supplies: 
-The ability to move between tabs to access Zoom and Nearpod. Two devices may be helpful for your learner but are not required.
-Pencils, pens, ruler, coloured pencils/pens, eraser, sharpener, scissors, plain/lined/graph paper, glue stick, geometry set, calculator.
-A clear plastic sleeve, dry erase marker and eraser (cloth, paper towel).
-A binder or duo-tang for weekly printables. 

Unique supplies will be updated in advance through the classroom.
In addition to the Outschool classroom, this class uses:
There will be no formal assessment, but the teacher will provide comments/grades where possible at the parents' request.
50 minutes per week in class, and an estimated 1 - 2 hours per week outside of class.

Teacher

Jacquie HarkemaCapacity Builder and Lifelong Learner
45 total reviews
45 completed classes

About Me

Hi! I’m Ms. Jacquie and I love being a teacher!

I have worked in education for over 15 years and my teaching specialties are sciences and humanities. I have experience in public education, private education and as a 5-year homeschool parent... 
Learn
© 2022 Outschool, Inc.