Find Classes
Teach
Log In
Social Studies

Great Personalities: Abraham Lincoln (Flex)

A look at the life and contributions of Abraham Lincoln, as well as the state of the country during his presidency.
Tina Hugall MHA MBA
726 total reviews for this teacher
Completed by 2 learners
Class
No live meetings
Over 8 weeks
11-16
year olds
1-8
learners per class
per learner - per week

How does a "Flex" course work?

No scheduled live video chats
Discussions via classroom forum and private messages with the teacher
Great if your learner prefers independent pacing or is uncomfortable with live video chat

Available Times

Pacific

Mon, Nov 28

Nov 28, 2022 – Jan 28, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
This section has already started.
Enroll Late

Mon, Dec 5

Dec 5, 2022 – Feb 4, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Dec 12

Dec 12, 2022 – Feb 11, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jan 2, 2023

Jan 2 – Feb 26, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jan 9, 2023

Jan 9 – Mar 5, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jan 16, 2023

Jan 16 – Mar 12, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jan 23, 2023

Jan 23 – Mar 19, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jan 30, 2023

Jan 30 – Mar 26, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Feb 6, 2023

Feb 6 – Apr 2, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Feb 13, 2023

Feb 13 – Apr 9, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Feb 20, 2023

Feb 20 – Apr 16, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Feb 27, 2023

Feb 27 – Apr 23, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Mar 6, 2023

Mar 6 – Apr 30, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Mar 13, 2023

Mar 13 – May 7, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Mar 20, 2023

Mar 20 – May 14, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Mar 27, 2023

Mar 27 – May 21, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Apr 3, 2023

Apr 3 – May 28, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Apr 10, 2023

Apr 10 – Jun 4, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Apr 17, 2023

Apr 17 – Jun 11, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Apr 24, 2023

Apr 24 – Jun 18, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, May 1, 2023

May 1 – Jun 25, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, May 8, 2023

May 8 – Jul 2, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, May 15, 2023

May 15 – Jul 9, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, May 22, 2023

May 22 – Jul 16, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, May 29, 2023

May 29 – Jul 23, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jun 5, 2023

Jun 5 – Jul 30, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jun 12, 2023

Jun 12 – Aug 6, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jun 19, 2023

Jun 19 – Aug 13, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jun 26, 2023

Jun 26 – Aug 20, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jul 3, 2023

Jul 3 – Aug 27, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jul 10, 2023

Jul 10 – Sep 3, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jul 17, 2023

Jul 17 – Sep 10, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jul 24, 2023

Jul 24 – Sep 17, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Jul 31, 2023

Jul 31 – Sep 24, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon, Aug 7, 2023

Aug 7 – Oct 1, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll
Don't see a time that works for you?

Description

Class Experience

Students will gain an understanding of the beginning, middle, and end of the Civil War. They will also learn about Lincolns childhood, political career, time in the White House, and his family. 
I have been an educator on Outschool since February of 2018. I have my MBA and MHA, both of which have taught me the value of conducting research and asking questions.  I have a passion for history and learning. You can usually find me in the middle of 2-3 books or watching a documentary. 
There will be 7 homework assignments given in this class. In lesson 7, the homework assignment will be to watch the movie “Lincoln” at home on the students own time. This movie is rated PG-13, so it may be deemed unsuitable for some of the younger students. Each student will write a 1 page (2-3 paragraph) paper of what they took away from the movie and how things have changed in our society since then. 
Each week, a list of homework questions will be posted to the classroom page. There will also be a list of 2-5 research/project topics that the student will choose from for that week. Both of these are due on the Saturday of that week. Students will have to do research on their own time. I will be available for questions 24-7.
In addition to the Outschool classroom, this class uses:
No live meetings, and an estimated 1 - 2 hours per week outside of class.
The homework assignment for week 7 is to watch the movie "Lincoln" at home on the students own time. (This is available on Netflix.) Some students may find some of the topics covered or scenes a bit disturbing. Please be aware that the last class (week 8) is a lecture about the movie, the characters, and what outcome the situations in the movie had on history.  We will also be discussing slavery, war, and Lincoln's assassination. All topics will be handled in an age appropriate manner. 

This class will utilize Youtube videos for sharing of lecture videos, as well as supplemental lessons. All Youtube videos are embedded into the Outschool platform. This class may also utilize Kahoot. Learners will be given a direct link and game pin to play. 

Some of the sources used for this class are, but not limited to: 
Smithsonian
Britannica
National Geographic
PBS
Library of Congress

Teacher

Tina Hugall MHA MBA"The more you know about the past, the better prepared you are for the future." Theodore Roosevelt
726 total reviews
853 completed classes

About Me

ALL FLEX CLASSES 10-50% OFF! ALL CODES CAN BE FOUND ON EACH CLASS LISTING! (THESE CODES ARE APPLICABLE FOR SPRING 2023 FLEX DATES!) (If you are taking multiple classes , please message me as some coupon codes cannot be doubled. I will issue you a... 
Learn
Get The App
Download the Outschool iOS app on the App Store
©2022 Outschool, Inc.