Find Classes
Teach
Log In
Science & Nature

(Flex Class) Pokémon Science: Plants and Fungi

Learn about the science of plants and fungi by comparing them to your favorite Pokemon! A great way to explore beginning biology concepts using a framework of a favorite anime series and game.
Teacher Lauren
3013 total reviews for this teacher
33 reviews for this class
Completed by 203 learners
Class
No live meetings
Over 4 weeks
6-11
year olds
1-18
learners per class
per learner - per week

How does aFlexible Schedulecourse work?

No scheduled live video chats
Discussions via classroom forum and private messages with the teacher
Great if your learner prefers independent pacing or is uncomfortable with live video chat

Available Times

Pacific Time

Mon Jul 4

Jul 4 - Aug 1 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jul 11

Jul 11 - Aug 8 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jul 18

Jul 18 - Aug 15 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jul 25

Jul 25 - Aug 22 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 1

Aug 1 - Aug 29 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
1 learner enrolled
Enroll

Mon Aug 8

Aug 8 - Sep 5 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 15

Aug 15 - Sep 12 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 22

Aug 22 - Sep 19 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 29

Aug 29 - Sep 26 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Sep 5

Sep 5 - Oct 3 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Sep 12

Sep 12 - Oct 10 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Sep 19

Sep 19 - Oct 17 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Sep 26

Sep 26 - Oct 24 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Oct 3

Oct 3 - Oct 31 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Oct 10

Oct 10 - Nov 7 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Oct 17

Oct 17 - Nov 14 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Oct 24

Oct 24 - Nov 21 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Oct 31

Oct 31 - Nov 28 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Nov 7

Nov 7 - Dec 5 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Nov 14

Nov 14 - Dec 12 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Nov 21

Nov 21 - Dec 19 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Nov 28

Nov 28 - Dec 26 (4 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll
Don't see a time that works for you?

Description

Class Experience

By the end of the class, students should be able to:

🌷 Explain why fungi and plants are not in the same kingdom of life.
🌷 Describe the difference between a spore and a seed.
🌷 Name the two other types of fungi besides mushrooms.
🌷 Identify some spore bearing plants.
🌷 Describe the differences between spore-bearing plants, gymnosperms, and angiosperms.
🌷 List the different parts of an angiosperm plant.
🌷 Describe some plant and fungi Pokemon, and the things they have in common with real plants and fungi.
🌷 Explain the difference between a consumer, a decomposer, and a producer.
Weeks 2 and 4 are homework projects. Parents can determine how much/little time they want their learner to spend doing this project. They can also choose to opt out of the projects entirely, and just enjoy the recorded presentations in weeks 1 and 3.
No live meetings, and an estimated 0 - 1 hours per week outside of class.
We do talk about plant reproduction very briefly in this class, and I compare it to sperm and egg reproduction in humans. I don't go into any details, but some students might feel discomfort or confusion if they haven't yet learned about how mammals create babies.

Teacher

Teacher LaurenThe Pop Culture Teacher
3013 total reviews
2642 completed classes

About Me

💰 𝐃𝐢𝐬𝐜𝐨𝐮𝐧𝐭𝐬 💰
I offer a "pay what you can afford" discount for ALL FLEX CLASSES. When you enroll, simply put the amount you think is fair in the "message to teacher" section. I can then apply a partial refund to match the amount you need; it can... 
Learn
© 2022 Outschool, Inc.