Social Studies

Extraordinary People From History Part 1 Flex (8-11)

A look at the lives and contributions of: Nikola Tesla, Samuel Clemens, Walt Disney, Richard Branson, Mahatma Gandhi, Leonardo da Vinci, Franklin D. Roosevelt, and Charles Darwin.
655 total reviews for this teacher
1 review for this class
Completed by 6 learners
Class

No live meetings

Over 8 weeks

8-11

year olds

3-15

learners per class

per learner - per week

How does aFlexible Schedulecourse work?

No scheduled live video chats
Discussions via classroom forum and private messages with the teacher
Great if your learner prefers independent pacing or is uncomfortable with live video chat

Available Times

Pacific Time

Mon May 23

May 23 - Jul 17 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon May 30

May 30 - Jul 24 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jun 6

Jun 6 - Jul 31 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jun 13

Jun 13 - Aug 7 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jun 20

Jun 20 - Aug 14 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jun 27

Jun 27 - Aug 21 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jul 11

Jul 11 - Sep 3 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jul 18

Jul 18 - Sep 10 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Jul 25

Jul 25 - Sep 17 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 1

Aug 1 - Sep 24 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 8

Aug 8 - Oct 1 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 15

Aug 15 - Oct 8 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 22

Aug 22 - Oct 15 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 29

Aug 29 - Oct 22 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Sep 5

Sep 5 - Oct 29 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Sep 12

Sep 12 - Nov 5 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Sep 19

Sep 19 - Nov 12 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Sep 26

Sep 26 - Nov 19 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Oct 3

Oct 3 - Nov 26 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Oct 10

Oct 10 - Dec 3 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Oct 17

Oct 17 - Dec 10 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Oct 24

Oct 24 - Dec 17 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Oct 31

Oct 31, 2022 - Jan 7, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Nov 7

Nov 7, 2022 - Jan 14, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Nov 14

Nov 14, 2022 - Jan 21, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Nov 28

Nov 28, 2022 - Jan 28, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Dec 5

Dec 5, 2022 - Feb 4, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Dec 12

Dec 12, 2022 - Feb 11, 2023 (8 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Don't see a time that works for you?

Description

Class Experience

Students will learn about different time periods and how these extraordinary people shaped the world around them. 
I have been an educator on Outschool since February of 2018. I have my MBA and MHA, both of which have taught me the value of conducting research and asking questions.  I have a passion for history and learning. You can usually find me in the middle of 2-3 books or watching a documentary. 
Each will there will be two assignments. The first is a list of 3-7 discussion questions. These are to be answered by the students in their own words based on their thoughts and opinions. The second assignment is a list of 3-5 homework projects. Students are to choose 1 each week that they find interesting. These could be short research papers (1 page), a short video to watch and review, or a project. 
In addition to the Outschool classroom, this class uses:
No live meetings, and an estimated 0 - 1 hours per week outside of class.
This class will utilize Youtube videos for sharing of lecture videos, as well as supplemental lessons. All Youtube videos are embedded into the Outschool platform. This class may also utilize Kahoot. Learners will be given a direct link and game pin to play. 
Some of the sources used for this class are, but not limited to: 
Smithsonian
Britannica
National Geographic
PBS
Library of Congress

Teacher

Tina Hugall"The more you know about the past, the better prepared you are for the future." Theodore Roosevelt
655 total reviews
713 completed classes

About Me

SUMMER 2022 PROMOTION! Expires August 31, 2022

ONGOING AND ONE-TIME CLASSES - $5 OFF COUPON HUGALFHL2A5
MULTI-DAY AND FLEX CLASSES - $10 OFF COUPON   HUGALPY0LU10

Hello! My name is Tina and I love to learn and teach. I am the oldest from a... 
Learn
© 2022 Outschool, Inc.