English
Log In

Emily Windsnap Book Club for Fans of Friendship and Mystery

Class
Miss Kate, M. Special Ed., TEFL
Average rating:4.9Number of reviews:(115)
Engaging literature lessons using the book series by Liz Kessler to teach life lessons and to help overcome summer slump #academic

Class experience

US Grade 5 - 6
Through the course of this multi-day summer book club, learners will learn to read and think critically, as well as how to defend their opinions and state their ideas respectfully.
Students will also learn basic literacy ideas such as: plot, characters, setting and theme and be able to confidently discuss those elements by the end of the summer. 
I hold a master's degree with an emphasis in reading.  I teach special education and understand the necessity for lively lessons designed to hold learners attention.
Homework Offered
Students will be expected to have completed reading each book listed above by the time of the lesson.
1 - 2 hours per week outside of class
Assessments Offered
These classes will not be assessed.
Grades Offered
Learners are expected to obtain a copy of the book and think about the class topic while reading as much as they can before class.
In addition to the Outschool classroom, this class uses:
I use Canva as a presentation tool.
Average rating:4.9Number of reviews:(115)
Profile
I live in Alaska where it is light for days on end during the summer but dark and cold during the winter.  I have six children, five grandchildren, three cats, two dogs and two rabbits. I enjoy hiking, kayaking, skiing, reading and crochet.
My... 
Group Class

$21

weekly
1x per week
50 min

Completed by 2 learners
Live video meetings
Ages: 10-12
1-8 learners per class

About
Support
SafetyPrivacyCA PrivacyLearner PrivacyTerms
Outschool International
Get The App
Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play
© 2024 Outschool