Science & Nature

Dissecting Food Webs: What Happens When Animals Disappear?

In this one-time course, students will learn about the importance of food webs, different diet types, and the trophic energy chain in managing healthy ecosystems.
46 total reviews for this teacher
17 reviews for this class
Completed by 90 learners
Class

45 minutes

per class

Meets once

11-14

year olds

1-4

learners per class

per learner

How does aOne-Timeclass work?

Meets once at a scheduled time
Live video chat, recorded and monitored for safety and quality
Great for exploring new interests and different styles of teachers

How Outschool Works

Available Times

Pacific Time

Wed Jun 1

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jun 1

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Jun 2

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jun 3

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jun 6

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jun 6

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Jun 7

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jun 8

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jun 8

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Jun 9

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jun 10

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jun 13

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jun 13

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Jun 14

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jun 15

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jun 15

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Jun 16

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jun 17

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jun 20

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jun 20

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Jun 21

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jun 22

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jun 22

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Jun 23

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jun 24

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jun 27

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jun 27

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Jun 28

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jun 29

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jun 29

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Jun 30

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jul 1

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Jul 5

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jul 6

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jul 6

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Jul 7

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jul 8

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jul 11

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jul 11

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Jul 12

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jul 13

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jul 13

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Jul 14

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jul 15

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jul 18

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jul 18

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Jul 19

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jul 20

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jul 20

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Jul 21

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jul 22

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jul 25

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Jul 25

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Jul 26

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jul 27

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Jul 27

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Jul 28

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Jul 29

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Aug 1

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Aug 1

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Aug 2

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Aug 3

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Aug 3

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Aug 4

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Aug 5

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Aug 8

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Aug 8

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Aug 9

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Aug 10

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Aug 10

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Aug 11

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Aug 12

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Aug 15

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Aug 15

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Aug 16

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Aug 17

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Aug 17

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Aug 18

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Aug 19

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Aug 22

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Aug 22

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Aug 23

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Aug 24

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Aug 24

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Aug 25

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Aug 26

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Aug 29

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Aug 29

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Aug 30

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Aug 31

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Aug 31

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Sep 1

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Sep 2

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Sep 6

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Sep 7

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Sep 7

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Sep 8

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Sep 9

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Sep 12

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Sep 12

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Sep 13

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Sep 14

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Sep 14

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Sep 15

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Sep 16

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Sep 19

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Sep 19

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Sep 20

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Sep 21

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Sep 21

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Sep 22

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Sep 23

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Sep 26

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Sep 26

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Sep 27

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Sep 28

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Sep 28

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Sep 29

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Sep 30

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Oct 3

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Oct 3

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Wed Oct 5

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Oct 5

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Oct 6

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Oct 7

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Oct 10

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Oct 10

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Oct 11

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Oct 12

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Oct 12

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Oct 13

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Oct 14

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Oct 17

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Oct 17

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Oct 18

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Oct 19

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Oct 19

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Oct 20

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Oct 21

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Oct 24

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Oct 24

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Oct 25

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Oct 26

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Oct 26

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Oct 27

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Oct 28

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Oct 31

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Oct 31

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Nov 1

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
7pm - 7:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Nov 2

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
5pm - 5:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Nov 2

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
11pm - 11:45pm
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Nov 3

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Nov 4

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
3pm - 3:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Nov 7

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Nov 8

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
12am - 12:45am
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Nov 8

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
8pm - 8:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Nov 9

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
6pm - 6:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Nov 10

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
12am - 12:45am
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Nov 10

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Nov 11

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Nov 14

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Nov 15

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
12am - 12:45am
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Nov 15

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
8pm - 8:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Nov 16

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
6pm - 6:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Nov 17

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
12am - 12:45am
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Nov 17

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Nov 21

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Nov 22

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
12am - 12:45am
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Nov 22

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
8pm - 8:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Nov 28

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Nov 29

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
12am - 12:45am
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Nov 29

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
8pm - 8:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Nov 30

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
6pm - 6:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Dec 1

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
12am - 12:45am
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Dec 1

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Dec 2

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Dec 5

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Dec 6

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
12am - 12:45am
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Dec 6

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
8pm - 8:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Dec 7

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
6pm - 6:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Dec 8

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
12am - 12:45am
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Dec 8

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Dec 9

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Mon Dec 12

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Tue Dec 13

Meet once (1 day)
Monday
12am - 12:45am
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Tue Dec 13

Meet once (1 day)
Tuesday
8pm - 8:45pm
 Enroll

Wed Dec 14

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
6pm - 6:45pm
 Enroll

Thu Dec 15

Meet once (1 day)
Wednesday
12am - 12:45am
Outside 6am-10pm in your local time.
 Enroll

Thu Dec 15

Meet once (1 day)
Thursday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Fri Dec 16

Meet once (1 day)
Friday
4pm - 4:45pm
 Enroll

Don't see a time that works for you?

Description

Class Experience

Students will gain an understanding of food webs, the importance of them being balanced for a healthy ecosystem, and what happens when a key species disappears. They will also learn the differences in animal diets and trophic energy levels, and their necessity to food webs. The information given in this course will allow students to identify food webs in their own environment and what might happen if certain species vanish.
I will be supplying slides for the game we play, nothing is needed on the students end!
Learners will not need to use any apps or websites beyond the standard Outschool tools.
45 minutes per week in class, and maybe some time outside of class.

Teacher

Shaelynn Wendt, B.S. Biology
🇺🇸
Lives in the United States
Wildlife and Environment Enthusiast
46 total reviews
115 completed classes

About Me

***** I will be taking a break from teaching in May. Classes will resume in June! *****

Hello everyone! My name is Shaelynn Wendt, and I absolutely love nature and animals. I especially love cats and have two adorable ones, Pumpkin and Luna, who... 
Learn
© 2022 Outschool, Inc.