Find Classes
Teach
Log In
Science & Nature

Crash Course in Chemistry (Flex Course)

This is a "must take" crash course for middle school chemistry lovers!
Mrs. Dawn Huffman
386 total reviews for this teacher
33 reviews for this class
Completed by 261 learners
Class
No live meetings
Over 6 weeks
11-15
year olds
1-18
learners per class
per learner - per week

How does aFlexible Schedulecourse work?

No scheduled live video chats
Discussions via classroom forum and private messages with the teacher
Great if your learner prefers independent pacing or is uncomfortable with live video chat

Available Times

Pacific Time

Tue Aug 2

Aug 2 - Sep 20 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
1 learner enrolled
Enroll Late

Wed Aug 10

Aug 10 - Sep 28 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu Aug 18

Aug 18 - Oct 6 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri Aug 26

Aug 26 - Oct 14 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Aug 29

Aug 29 - Oct 17 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue Sep 6

Sep 6 - Oct 25 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed Sep 14

Sep 14 - Nov 2 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu Sep 22

Sep 22 - Nov 10 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri Sep 30

Sep 30 - Nov 18 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Oct 3

Oct 3 - Nov 21 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue Oct 11

Oct 11 - Nov 29 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed Oct 19

Oct 19 - Dec 7 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu Oct 27

Oct 27 - Dec 15 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri Nov 4

Nov 4 - Dec 23 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Nov 7

Nov 7 - Dec 26 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Tue Nov 15

Nov 15, 2022 - Jan 3, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Wed Nov 23

Nov 23, 2022 - Jan 11, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Thu Dec 1

Dec 1, 2022 - Jan 19, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Fri Dec 9

Dec 9, 2022 - Jan 27, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll

Mon Dec 12

Dec 12, 2022 - Jan 30, 2023 (6 weeks)
Flexible Time
 Enroll
Don't see a time that works for you?

Description

Class Experience

I am a certified teacher in science, language arts, and social science.  I also have a master's degree in reading.  I've been teaching for 12 years to both struggling students and gifted students.  I feel it's important to differentiate my instruction so that I'm meeting the individual needs of all my students.  
Lab Materials for the course: Week 3. Atoms, Molecules, Elements & Compounds (Pony Bead Lab) Materials: Pony Beads & Pipe Cleaners Week 4. Mixtures & Solutions (Black Magic Ink Lab) Lab Materials: scissors, white paper coffee filter, black marker (not permanent, water, coffee cup or mug Week 5. Chemical & Physical Changes (Choice between Fizzy Inflators Lab OR Making S'Mores Lab) Lab Materials: -Fizzy Inflators ( One small empty plastic soda or water bottle, 1/2 cup of vinegar, Small balloon, Baking soda, Funnel or piece of paper OR -S'Mores Lab (marshmallows, Hershey bars, graham crackers)
In addition to the Outschool classroom, this class uses:
No live meetings, and an estimated 1 - 2 hours per week outside of class.

Teacher

Mrs. Dawn HuffmanCertified Middle School Science Teacher & Masters with a Reading Emphasis
386 total reviews
881 completed classes

About Me

“If a child can't learn the way we teach, maybe we should teach the way they learn.”
– Ignacio Estrada

I am a certified teacher, and I began my teaching career as a 5th-grade elementary teacher in Illinois in 2007.  I now have the privilege of... 
Learn
© 2022 Outschool, Inc.