Log In

There are no open spots for this class, but we found something similar!

Class listing photo
5.0 (37)Ages: 7-10

Creating Comics Level 2 (Ages 7-10): Weekly Workshop

Class listing photo
5.0 (15)Ages: 7-12

馃摎Make & Publish Your Comic Books W/ Professional Printing & Delivery! Ages 6-12

Class listing photo
5.0 (29)Ages: 8-13

How to Draw! Ultimate Comics Drawing Class for Fans of Comics & Graphic Novels

Class listing photo
5.0 (2)Ages: 4-7

The Ultimate Comic Club: Have Fun Writing as a Beginner Comic Creator!

Class listing photo
5.0 (87)Ages: 6-11

The Cat Kid Comic Comprehension Club!

Class listing photo
5.0 (1)Ages: 10-15

Make Your Own Comic Book

6th-8th Grade Art Course: Create Your Own Comic, Manga, Graphic Novel

Class
Play
Katie C
Average rating:4.9Number of reviews:(192)
In this multi-day course, students will learn about the basics of creating a comic, starting from writing the script and creating their own characters, to drawing the comic itself.

Class experience

At the end of this course, students will learn:
- Brainstorming and How to Plan Writing and Drawing a Comic
- How to Create Characters
- The Narrative Arc
- How to Draw Thumbnail Sketches
- Comic Page Terminology (such as gutters, panels and spreads)
- Sketching
- Inking Comics
- How to Create an Interesting Cover Page
For as long as I was able to hold onto a pencil, I have been drawing my own comics in one way or another. I drew my own comic book series when I was 12 years old! Additionally, I have taught classes on how to create your own comics while student teaching. I am extremely passionate about comics and how you can tell a story with the combination of words and pictures!
Homework Offered
For Day 1, the homework is to create two characters and write a script that will cover at least one page. For Day 2, the homework is to have at least one comic page penciled in (though the student can always draw more than one page!). For Day 3, the homework is to have at least one comic page inked (though the student can always ink more than one page!).
0 - 1 hours per week outside of class
Assessments Offered
Grades Offered
For this course, the student will need:
- Pencils
- Paper
- Inking Pen

OPTIONAL:
- Tablet

To create the comic, students can either draw their comic with a paper and pencil or draw their comic digitally on the computer or with a tablet. Both are fine!
Learners will not need to use any apps or websites beyond the standard Outschool tools.
Average rating:4.9Number of reviews:(192)
Profile
Hello! My name is Katie Connelly. 
A little bit about myself: I graduated from the University of Northern Colorado with a degree in Art Education in 2014. Since then, I have been in a part of a school setting in one way or another. I was a pre-K...
Group Class

$20

weekly or $80 for 4 classes
1x per week, 4 weeks
55 min

Completed by 301 learners
Live video meetings
Ages: 10-13
1-8 learners per class

About
Support
SafetyPrivacyCA PrivacyLearner PrivacyTerms
2024 Outschool